A Stranger to Change Starts a New Chapter

I’ll come right out and admit it. I’m not a big fan of change. I like what I like. I get comfortable. Maybe complacent. I’d like to call it “committed.” I’ll let you decide which definition of that term that you feel best suits me. Observe:

  • I’ve lived in three areas in my life: the South Bay of California, Providence, and Metro Boston. Two of those, I’ve lived in for more than 16 years each.
  • The last guy I was with, I was with for nearly 17 years.
  • My career has spanned exactly three companies – one for almost five years, and the current one for nearly seven. In the tech and PR industries, that’s serious tenure.

So the fact that, in the same week (last week), my divorce became final AND I tendered my resignation, is actually pretty shocking. I’ve covered the divorce pretty thoroughly now, I think, and frankly, the actual event seems rather anticlimactic. Now I just need to get the certified copy of my divorce decree so that I can go to the Social Security Administration office and reclaim my name. Hopefully this time, I can escape without a black eye. (Long story.)

The second bit – changing jobs – is a really big deal for me. I joined on July 11, 2005, after having served as the US PR (public relations) lead for a year and a half, so I’ve really been with the company for more than eight years. When I first joined, I did so because it was the first one of my clients whose customers spoke with a true passion. These people were converts. One might even say zealots. They told me about the millions of dollars their companies had made or saved as a result of my company’s software. It might have taken them a bit of fast-talking to get the deal approved because it was a smaller company that preached a different way of doing things, but when they were successful, ho boy. The best story I can tell is the one of the manager who became VP of IT/CIO of a $1B+ company in large part (by his own words) of my company’s software. Now THAT’S some serious personal ROI.

And when I joined, it was even better. The people were (ARE!) the smartest, nicest, most genuine, interesting, educated, intelligent, committed (there’s that word again), funniest people. I’ve made some very good friends who have helped me through rough times, propelled me forward in “normal” times and turbo-boosted me in good times. I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Needless to say, my last few days are somewhat melancholy ones as I remember everything that I will miss. I’m using this post to thank every single one of those folks – and you know which ones you are, even if you don’t read this blog – for how they have enriched my life over the past seven years.

I have a great and exciting opportunity in front of me. I’m looking forward to it. But I sure will miss my friends.

Now, what am I going to do for the week or so that I have off between jobs?

For my buddy LC - I hope my departure doesn't diminish the chances of us finally ordering that whole roasted pig we've talked about...

One thought on “A Stranger to Change Starts a New Chapter

  1. Pingback: Our Home Isn’t “Broken” « Practical Whimsy

Leave a Reply

